2015 Queensland Thundercat Surf Cross Series Final

Community Entertainment Sport and Fitness

This is an archived copy of an event that has already passed. It is online for informational purposes only.
  • Date:
  • Location: Brisbane Coast Thundercats, Queensland Wide 4000 Queensland

The high-flying Thundercats and their adrenalin-seeking crews return to the Sunshine Coast on November 21-22 for the final round of their 2015 State Surf Cross Series! Head down to Alexandra Headland beach to catch all of the exhilarating action as Queensland's top Thundercat crews take on the surf and battle each other for the state championship title. 

Will Nick Routledge and Tony Aitkenhead hold on to their current lead to take home the 2015 state champs crown or will Gold Coast brothers Jay and Nathan Durston get the hat trick this year? Round one of the 2015 Thundercats Surf Cross Series was held at Marcoola in April and this month's final round sees crews returning to the coast for the first time since the drama-filled 'King Of Coolum' Trans-Tasman Race, held at Coolum in July. The sport of Thundercat Racing has been likened to 'extreme IRB racing' and features 4.1m long inflatable Catamaran-style powered boats, specifically designed for high-speed action in the surf. 

Guided by their thrill-seeking Thundercat Pilots and Co-pilots, these boats can reach speeds of up to 90 km per hour and jump up to 6 metres in the air – making it an exciting, family-friendly spectator sport, with events attracting thousands of followers across the world each year. The 2015 Queensland Thundercats Surf Cross Series Championship final will be held over two action-packed days at Alexandra Headland beach – just north of the Surf Club. Racing gets underway at 9am on both Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd November. 

Come and join us for a full weekend of high-octane, high-flying surf cross action! 

This event is presented by Brisbane Coast Thundercats and supported by Neptune Marine and Alexandra Headland Surf Lifesaving Club. 

2015 Queensland Thundercat Surf Cross Series Current Standings: 
1st - Pilot Nick Routledge/Co-Pilot Tony Aitkenhead (Mountain Trees) 
2nd – Pilot Jay Durstan/Co-Pilot Nathan Durstan (Neptune Marine 1) 
3rd – Pilot Jake Gaby / Co-Pilot Rob van der Westhuizen (I Can I Will) 
4th – Pilot Charles Riley / Co-Pilot James Riley (Metricon) 
5th – Pilot Andrew Pomas / Co-Pilot Alex Van Hoeyen (Neptune Marine 2) 
6th – Pilot Jay McGowan / Co-Pilot Jaake Yard 
7th – Pilot Jason Grant / Co-Pilot Adam Thomas 
8th – Pilot Josh Klipett / Co-Pilot Greg Wynnne 
9th – Pilot Michael Geale / Co-Pilot Sam Trevor 
10th – Pilot Tony Attwood / Co-Pilot Alex Graf 
11th – Pilot Joel Damme / Co-Pilot Ben Gaby 

To find out more about the sport of Thundercat Racing, visit www.brisbanecoastthundercats.com.au or www.neptunemarine.com.au Find us on Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Neptune-Marine/445676532174811 

See the Thundercats in action here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozykgZSXriw Ph: John – 0433 507 620 or email sales@neptunemarine.com.au 

2015 Queensland Thundercat Surf Cross Series Final
21 & 22 November
Alexandra Headlands Beach

2015 Queensland Thundercat Surf Cross Series Final (5)

Brisbane Coast Thundercats :
7 Judds Court, Slacks Creek Qld 4127, Queensland Wide
07 3290 6370
0414 772 908

Map Location ( get directions )

Brisbane Coast Thundercats, Queensland Wide

All Sunshine Coast events, gigs, functions etc... onsite are correct as per information provided at time of uploading, please always verify times or dates directly with the venues to avoid disappointment.