Poetry award winners announced


NOTE: This article is older than 12 months

Education and Arts,   Rod Welford  26/08/05

Poetry award winners announced

Award-winning Glasshouse Mountains poet Nathan Shepherdson has been announced as the winner of the prestigious Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize for 2005.

Minister for the Arts, Rod Welford, announced the award during the opening of the Queensland Poetry Festival.

"Nathan Shepherdson is a major talent in Queensland's poetry scene," Mr Welford said.

"This is evidenced by the fact that he won the prestigious Josephine Ulrick Poetry Prize in 2004 and a high commendation from the judges of last year's Thomas Shapcott Prize.

"As part of this year's prize, he receives a publishing contract with University of Queensland Press and that will help him reach a wider audience."

Mr Shepherdson won $3,000 for his poem "Sweeping the Light Back Into the Mirror".

Named in honour of one of Queensland's most distinguished poets, the Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize is awarded to an outstanding unpublished manuscript by an emerging Queensland poet.

Mr Welford also congratulated the winners of the Val Vallis Poetry Award for emerging Australian poets.

Queensland poet Ynes Sanz from Riverhills won first place and $3,000 with her poem "Quandamooka Suite".

Yarraville poet Paul Mitchell is the second place-winner with his work 'Moral Comfort', for which he receives $750, while third place-winner Lucy Holt receives $250 for 'Half a Life'.

Highly commended poems included "A Likeness" by Petra White (Victoria), "Shortlong" by Joan Kerr (Victoria), "E.globulus" by Louise Oxley (Tasmania), "Little Snatch of Darkness" by Belinda Broughton (South Australia) and "Choice Cuts" by Janet Upcher (Tasmania).

For more information visit: www.queenslandpoetryfestival.net.


comments powered by Disqus

All articles submitted by third parties or written by My Sunshine Coast come under our Disclaimer / Terms of Service