Seven Queensland Police Service officers acknowledged with the Australian Police Medal


Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services, the Honourable Mark Ryan MP and Commissioner Ian Stewart welcomed the announcement of the seven recipients from the QPS who will receive the Australian Police Medal (APM) and be nationally honoured for their distinguished service.  

The QPS APM recipients share a diverse policing history between them, having served throughout Queensland in a number of roles and areas.

The recipients this year are Chief Superintendent Benjamin Marcus from South Eastern Region, Inspector Anthony Graham from Brisbane Region, Inspector Stephen Pyne from Community Contact Command, Senior Sergeant Kate Teasdale from Southern Region, Senior Sergeant Melanie Wilkins from Ethical Standards Command, Sergeant Glen Gunthorpe from the Commissioner’s Office and Sergeant Megan Owens from Central Region.

All the recipients will be presented with their APM at an upcoming ceremony.

Commissioner Stewart said each of the APM recipients displayed the desired and exemplary attributes of a QPS officer and he was proud to acknowledge them on their outstanding service.

“The recipients reflect dedication and professionalism in all they undertake as an officer of the Queensland Police Service,” Commissioner Stewart said.

“I am proud to have them serving our community.” 

  • Chief Superintendent Marcus is seen as a role model for QPS officers and his professionalism and leadership abilities are qualities that reflect the high standards expected of a QPS officer. His commitment to improvement is demonstrated through his encouragement of police officers to seek out higher education and development opportunities.
  • Inspector Graham has demonstrated outstanding dedication, professionalism and integrity during his 36 years with the QPS. He is recognised for his commitment to improving policing practices, his pursuit of excellence and his commitment to courage, fairness and pride.
  • Inspector Pyne is recognised for his commitment, skill and excellence in developing and fostering innovation in policing practice, particularly with at risk youth and for promoting personal development of young people by assisting them to reach their potential through Project Booyah.
  • Senior Sergeant Teasdale has shown outstanding dedication to the QPS through her service at Charleville and Longreach where she developed her strong sense of resourcefulness and team work, while maintaining her desire to fulfil the values of the QPS. She recently led the QPS Housing Policy Project Team to plan, design and implement the State Housing Policy, which required vision to enhance the standard of police accommodation.
  • Senior Sergeant Wilkins has served the QPS for 28 years in areas including General Duties, Criminal Investigation Branch, State Crime Command, Criminal Justice Commission, and the Ethical Standards Command. Since 2010 she has worked as the Manager in QPS Honours and Awards Unit and is recognised for her dedication to this role, in particular, the creation of several new awards, following up on the recognition of retired members and her research in historical fallen members of the QPS.
  • Sergeant Gunthorpe is recognised for his success and partnership with community groups to achieve positive outcomes. This includes fostering relationships with various sporting associations and charity organisations. He has been involved with community activities on a voluntary basis and has positively impacted a number of young people.
  • Sergeant Owens is recognised for her leadership, professionalism and expertise in investigative practices over her 28 years of service with the QPS. She has demonstrated commitment, skill and excellence in working to advance interests of all staff within QPS and served the community of Queensland with distinction in a range of police appointments.

Minister Ryan said the awards were a fitting acknowledgement of each recipients’ outstanding contribution and commitment to serving the Queensland community.

“The recipients have shown dedication to the Queensland community and their policing standards demonstrate a commitment to upholding community values,” Minister Ryan said.

“Thank you for your ongoing commitment and service.” 

Commissioner Stewart acknowledged each recipient and congratulated them on their commitment towards the QPS and the state of Queensland.

“I would like to congratulate and give my own personal thanks to each of the medal recipients,” Commissioner Stewart said.

“Their abilities and professionalism are qualities that reflect the high standards expected of a member of the QPS.”

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services
The Honourable Mark Ryan

Community Queensland Government

Queensland Police :
Police Headquarters, 200 Roma Street, Brisbane, Queensland Wide
07 3364 6464
1800 333 000
07 3236 2359
Queensland Police
Showing 3 recent articles for this business
Drivers urged to take extra care on wet roads 09 February 2020 | Queensland drivers are being urged to take extra care as the current wet weather event impacts roads across many regions. More information...
A swearing in to remember for 34 new officers 07 November 2019 | Commissioner Katarina Carroll welcomed and witnessed the swearing in of a new cohort of police officers at a graduation ceremony at the Queensland Police Service Academy in Oxley today. More information...

comments powered by Disqus

All articles submitted by third parties or written by My Sunshine Coast come under our Disclaimer / Terms of Service